About  RabbitsAbout  Rabbits

View Rabbit Breeds

A Rabbit
Rabbits are small cute furry critters found in several parts of the world. There are eight different groups within the rabbit family, including the European rabbit, cottontail rabbits, and the Amami rabbit (an endangered species in Japan). The only rabbit to be widely domesticated is the European rabbit, which has been extensively bred for food and as pets. Rabbits were first widely kept in ancient Rome and they were refined into a wide variety of breeds during and since the middle Ages.

Domesticated rabbits have mostly been bred to be much larger than wild rabbits, although selective breeding has produced rabbits in a wide range of sizes from dwarf to giant.

Rabbit fur caries widely in color and is very soft. Angora rabbits are raised for their long, soft fur, which is often spun into yarn. Other breeds are raised for the fur industry, particularly the Rex, which has a smooth, velvet-like coat.

A male rabbit is called a buck and a female is called a doe. A young rabbit is called a kitten or kit.

Rabbit Colors

Rabbits come in the following colors:
  • Agouti
  • Albino
  • Black
  • Black Otter
  • Blue
  • Blue Agouti
  • Blue Silver
  • Brown
  • Brown Grey
  • Champagne
  • Chestnut
  • Chinchilla
  • Chocolate
  • Cinnamon
  • Cream
  • Dark Chamois
  • Dark Silver
  • Fawn
  • Gold
  • Grey
  • Lavender
  • Light Grey
  • Light Sand
  • Lilac
  • Lynx
  • Opal
  • Orange
  • Orange Shot Silver
  • Pale Yellow
  • Pointed White
  • Red
  • Red Agouti
  • Sable
  • Sable Marten
  • Sallander
  • Silver
  • Silvered Black Agouti
  • Steel
  • Steel Grey
  • Tan
  • Tortoise
  • White